top of page

Neutralising my Carbon footprint - Platbos, Africa's Southernmost Indigenous forest


I've given it some thought and when people ask me why I'm on this walkabout thing, I tell them I'm doing it for myself.... that it is a personal mission of self discovery. Hours and hours in Alfa state, problem solving, being creative or being of no mind. Most recently I had this epiphany that I actually can't change the world. I'm too overwhelmed when I focus on what's not working in the world, or the terrible things we do to each other, to the creatures on this earth or of course the earth itself. If I really want to leave something valuable behind and make every step I walk on this planet worthwhile, then how could I give something back in return. Then I remembered that when I was singing in Egypt at the Nile Sheraton about 16 years ago, I had the great priviledge of meeting an extraordinary man called Harold Jensen who had made this remarkable discovery of a slow release water system that enabled him to plant trees in the desert. He was there on a project to plant a million trees in a place called Sixth October. I remember being in awe of him and thinking what a valuable life he was leading. Driwater.com

In retrospect, maybe I too could leave a legacy behind me of trees. I wonder how many trees would I have to plant to neutralise my carbon foot-print on this planet and really leave no trace? So far I've kind of worked out that according to pound to pound of carbon, I would need 500 large trees or 1000 small trees to make a difference.

If I ask everyone who cares about this planet to donate one tree for every 10km I walked then I could do this much quicker. It would be an insentive to inspire people to think about their foot-print too. So, next project is to walk from our family farm in Caledon on the 12th of May 2015, near Krige station, to Platbos, the southernmost indigenous forest and plant some trees, 66,5km and 3 days of walking to the Greenpop reforesting festival!

So I am sending out a request to everyone I know and beyond to help me neutralise my footprint, make every step count by sponsoring me with a tree to plant when I arrive there on the 15th and maybe I too can plant a million trees!

So please go on to

http://www.platbos.co.za/order.html and please put YOUR name on it and Platbos Peace Tree Pilgrimage and make my every step count!

"Thank you for making this world a better place for you and for me!"

Mission accomplished thanks to all to all the friends of Platbos and Greenpop. 8000 trees planted at Platbos by all the amazing people who attended and those that sponsered trees.

https://www.facebook.com/GreenpopTreevolution/videos/993699030647829/?pnref=story


bottom of page