top of page

Neutralising my Carbon footprint


When people ask me why I’m always going on my walkabouts I tell them that it gives me an opportunity to connect with myself and while I’m in Alfa state I am able to problem solve and think of creative ways I can make a difference on this planet. Recently while walking I got this epiphany about what would be the most effective way I could make each step count.

About 16 years ago while I was working as a musician in Egypt I had the great privilege of meeting a great man called Harold Jensen, who had discovered a way of releasing water slowly to young sapling trees and thus giving it time to find the water table and in and survive in arid places or in times of drought. He was there fulfilling a lifelong dream to plant a million trees. I remember thinking what an incredible legacy he was leaving behind for generations to come, so this has got me thinking. Why can’t I plant a million trees too?

I don’t have any time to waste as I would have to plant 500 large trees, pound for pound of my footprint, or 1000 saplings. I don’t have any more time to waste as so my next mission is to walk from our family farm in Caledon on the 10th of May 2013, near Krige station, to Platbos, the southernmost indigenous forest and plant some trees, 120km and 5 days of walking at the Greenpop reforesting festival

I’m going to send out a request to everyone I know and beyond to help me neutralise my footprint, make every step count by sponsoring me with a tree for every 10km I will be walking and who knows, maybe I too can plant a million trees!

bottom of page